Affiliation No: - 2132980 | Period: - 01.04.2020 to 31.03.2023 | School Code: - 71048 | Affiliated till Senior Secondary
Enquire Now

Sardar Patel National Divyang T20 Cup, 2022

Sardar Patel National Divyang T20 Cup, 2022

 250 total views

“There is no greater power and support you can give someone than to look them in the eye, and with sincerity/conviction say, ‘I believe in you.” – Ken Poirot

Seth Anandram Jaipuria School, Lucknow has always championed the value of faith and belief in people’s abilities to be the most outstanding reason for one’s success. To ensure the continuity of this legacy, students from grades 5 and 8 visited the Ekana and K.D. Singh Babu stadiums in the inaugural and concluding days of the Sardar Patel National Divyang T20 Cup to cheer, support the morale and show their belief in the abilities of their differently abled sporting heroes from various states of the country. The 2nd season of Sardar Patel National Divyang T20 Cup — a national-level cricket tournament for the differently abled, was organized by the Differently Abled Cricket Council of India (DCCI) from October 31 at Lucknow. The eight-day spectacle was played at Ekana International Cricket Stadium, Lucknow to commemorate the birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel which is also observed as National Unity Day. Twenty teams of Divyang Cricketers from across the country, segmented into four groups, vied for the top prize after playing 43 matches. Winners were declared on November 7, 2022, during the closing ceremony to be held in Lucknow. Jammu and Kashmir emerged as the glorious winners of this season. Brajesh Pathak, deputy chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, handed over the trophy to the winners in the presence of the tournament’s brand ambassador, Deepa Malik – Padma Shree, Khel Ratna& Arjuna awardee – and Ravi Chauhan, secretary, DCCI at the K D Singh Babu stadium. The Divyang cricketers were at their best and the spectators witnessed some thrilling matches. Some of the highlights involved Hyderabad team’s S Prashanth claiming 5 wickets in 5 balls against Karnataka, and Maharashtra’s Ravindra Sante smashing 5 sixes in their match against Karnataka. In the end, Haryana and Jammu & Kashmir made it to the finals and the latter emerged victorious.

The final scores were – J&K at 87/10 in 16.2 overs, while Haryana were all out for 71 in 18.3 overs. The performance of Aamir Hassan from J&K was outstanding, and he was named man of the match for scoring 29 not out in a low-scoring match and then taking crucial three wickets. J&K’s Wasim Iqbal was adjudged the Man of the Series for his all-round performance. Anuj of Haryana was adjudged the Best Batsman while S Prashanth of Hyderabad was Best Bowler of the tournament. The tournament was the biggest-ever cricket platform for differently abled cricket players and had the highest amount of prize money ever given. Nearly 400 players and officials from 20 different states participated in the tournament.

Share this post