Affiliation No: - 2132980 | Period: - 01.04.2020 to 31.03.2023 | School Code: - 71048 | Affiliated till Senior Secondary

Dr. Rajaram Jaipuria Memorial Debate

Dr. Rajaram Jaipuria Memorial Debate

 626 total views

“Raise your words Not your voice. It is rain that grows flowers, not thunders.”


The Second Inter School Debate competition was held at Seth Anandram Jaipuria School, Lucknow on 09-10 August, 2019.  The second year of Dr. Rajaram Jaipuria Memorial Debate,  saw an overwhelming response by  19 schools.  There were 3 outstation teams from Mussoorie and Kanpur apart from 16 schools of the city. The debate was aimed to give students creative room to express what they feel. The length and breadth of knowledge that they gain through this is simply Unparalled.

The debate was spread over two days with the Preliminary Round on 09th August for all 19 teams and the Final Round on 10th August for 6 best teams.  The Esteemed panel of judges  for the Preliminary Round, on 09th August’19, were  Prof. Surbhi Agarwal,  Professor at Institute of Management Research & Technology, Dr. Viveik Pandit, an author and Mr. Ashutosh P Shukla, a dynamic judge. Ms. Pooja Mathur, French teacher at La Martiniere Girls’ College, was the moderator for the Preliminary round and she set the motion of the debate –  “ Creativity is more important than intelligence.”

The day started with lighting of the lamp, prayer and welcome dance. The Principal, Ms. Poonam Kochitty, shared interesting facts and life experiences of our dear founder, Dr. Rajaram Jaipuria, who is the inspiration of this debate . The teams were well prepared and they used various skills like overstatement, definition, rhetoric, irony etc. to convince their opponents and the judges. The participants, armed with statistics and data validated and made their arguments more emphatic with right facial expressions, body movements and gestures. All the teams exhibited great oratorical skills. They put in tremendous hard work to showcase their hidden talent. The debaters displayed confidence  in presenting their arguments before audience and a panel of eminent judges. At the end of the heated but interesting debate which lasted over three hours, the esteem panel of Judges judged the teams and out of 19 teams,  6 teams qualified for the Final round on 10th August.

The audience, on conclusion were further enlightened about the art of debating by Mr. Ashutosh Pandey who is a National level debater. He shared interesting anecdotes with the audience. Prof. Surbhi Agarwal applauded the efforts put in by all the speakers. Dr. Viveik Pandit encouraged the students to participate and come forward. He gifted his book to two speakers.  Ms. Pooja Mathur cheered all the teams and appreciated the research of the speakers.

The results for the day and  topic for second round was disclosed after the  first round of the debate by Principal, Ms. Poonam Kochitty‘Might is Right.’

Six teams came back on 10th August 9, 2019, to debate on the topic. Judges for the day were Ms. Saima Khan, an educator, writer,  an orator  and Mr. Ashutosh P Shukla, a dynamic judge. Moderator for the final round was Ms. Smriti Priya, a scientist, and she set the motion of the debate. Time keeper was Krishna Tulsyan, a student of class X.

Miss Ishita Agarwal, Seth Anandram Jaipuria School, Kanpur, heatedly spoke against the speakers for the motion defending her side with fervor, while Master Adhwant Mishra, CMS Gomti Nagar-I, countered the arguments of speakers against the motion. Miss Nandini Sharma, DPS Indira Nagar, stood out with her arguments in favour of the motion. The teams got an overwhelming response from the audience. They wonderfully spoke on the topic and each student presented different views about Might and Right. It was interesting to watch the young generation talk about might and right with facts and immeasurable research work. The speakers were enthusiastic and cordial in giving their views and displayed a deep understanding of the topic.

 Miss Sakshi Sachan, CMS Gomti Nagar-I, took away the ‘Best Speaker’ trophy ‘For’ , while the ‘Best Speaker’ trophy ‘Against’ was bagged by Master Adhwant Mishra, CMS Gomti Nagar-I.  ‘Runner-up Team’ went to Setha Anandram jaipuria School, Lucknow, comprising of Miss Ananya Tripathi and Miss Manya Kadian. CMS Gomti Nagar-I comprising of Miss Sakshi Sachan  and Master Adhwant Mishra,  took home the ‘Best Team’ trophy. The Best Speakers received a trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 1100/- each. The Best Team and ‘Runner-up Team’ received a trophy. Certificates of participation were given to each speaker.

Ms. Saima Khan said that questions should be effective in order to bring out the best in the speaker and stressed on confidence. Mr. Ashutosh highlighted the good points of the debate and rebuttal by the participants. Ms. Smriti congratulated the winners and encouraged them to keep participating in more such events. Speaking on the occasion, Principal, Mrs. Poonam Kochitty, said that Inter School Debate Competition was held as part of the initiative to know about the views of young generation. She applauded the research done by all the speakers and congratulated the winners. She thanked the teams for their participation and the judges for sparing their valuable time. The vote of thanks was proposed by our Headmaster, Mr. Pankaj Rathore.

Volveremos! We will be back next year with another challenge!


Share this post

Enquire Now
close slider