Affiliation No: - 2132980 | Period: - 01.04.2020 to 31.03.2023 | School Code: - 71048 | Affiliated till Senior Secondary

Admission Open 2023-24
Enquire Now

5th Dr. Rajaram Jaipuria Memorial Inter-School Debate 2022 concludes on a High Note

5th Dr. Rajaram Jaipuria Memorial Inter-School Debate 2022 concludes on a High Note

The final round of the5th Dr. Rajaram Memorial Inter-School Debate, on3rdAugust,2022, was a hotly debated , well researched one by the members of the 6 finalist schools namely CMS Cambridge International Section, Lucknow, SAJS Kanpur, SAJS Ghaziabad, Study Hall, Lucknow, Amity International School, Lucknow and CMS Gomti Nagar. The topic shared with the six schools just a day earlier was – Fact based Journalism and Press Freedom Worldwide is under threat
The event was presided over by three dynamic judges including Dr. Ankita Pandey, Ph.D. Commerce, from Guru Nanak Girls’ Degree College, Mr. Priyanshu Grover, an entrepreneur and a first-generation lawyer, Mr. Adarsh Kumar Singh, founder and COO at Aspirant India Initiative. The Moderator for the day was Ms. Shilpi Agarwal, TGT Coordinator at the host School.

The event started on an auspicious note, with an invocation to the Almighty and the lighting of the lamp by the Principal Ms. Poonam Kochitty and the judges. This was followed by a prayer dance performed by Vanshika Yadav of 4thC. A motivational song “Parvat Hila De” set the competitive spirits soaring.
The topic– ‘Fact-based journalism and press freedom is Under Threat’- was ably analyzed and argued upon with persuasive rhetoric backed by thorough research by the different speakers speaking for and against the motion. Each speaker had 4 minutes including 1 minute of rebuttal. Contending zealously each team asked pertinent questions, which were answered with equanimity by the speakers. The confidence and presence of mind, exhibited by the speakers was worth a watch.

Once the debate concluded, the eminent judges addressed the participants and student audience and gave their valuable inputs. The Head Boy, Devang Tiwari, gave an impromptu opinion on the debate pointing out the glaring difference between freedom of speech and freedom of press which was met with resounding approbation.

The judgement proved a formidable task. All teams were commended by the judges for their painstaking research. The results were announced by madam Moderator Ms. Shilpi Agarwal.The best speaker for the motion was Hamda Fatima from Amity International School Lucknow and the best speaker against the motion was Paavani Kalra from Study Hall Lucknow. The runner up school was City Montessori School Gomti Nagar. Study Hall was adjudged the best team for the event.

The event was managed and coordinated successfully under the able stewardship of Ms. Sangeeta Srivastava PGT English

Share this post